About Blackfynn

We’re changing the way neurological diseases are treated.

Why we’re here.

New tools and technologies are generating vast quantities of highly complex and diverse data. Electrical recordings, radiology imaging, genomics, pathology, neurochemistry, device and patient clinical data — together — could hold the keys to understanding the basis of human disease. Breakthrough discoveries that could lead to novel therapeutics have been hindered by an inability to see, use, collaborate around, analyze and interrogate all data types in combination to find new data patterns.

We built our platform to solve this problem. We came together to improve the lives of the more than one billion people worldwide who are living with epilepsy, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, ALS and other neurological diseases.

Who we are.

Our multidisciplinary team of domain experts is as diverse as the problems we solve.

Misty Ahmed

Full Stack Engineer

Chris Baglieri

SVP, Engineering

Cameron Baney

Front End Engineer

Derek Bowen

VP, Business Development and Strategy

Jonathon Brouse

Site Reliability Engineer

Amanda Christini, M.D.

Co-Founder • President

Jillian Cunningham

Administrative and Operations Coordinator

Zach Duey

Data Engineer

Crys Fitzgerald-Moore

Product Designer

Erin Griffault

VP, Talent

Leonardo Guercio, Ph.D.

Scientific Program Coordinator

Mark Hollenbeck

Director, Data Science

Daniel Hunter

Front End Engineer

Kevin Jackson

VP, Product Experience and Operations

Dmitriy Kreminskiy

Director of Finance

Jérémy Lecoeur

Director, Engineering

Christian Lohr

Director, Engineering

Silvia Lopez de Diego

Data Scientist

Bo Marchman

Full Stack Engineer

Rohan Shah

Data Engineer

Nick Shemonsky

Site Reliability Engineer

Jim Snavely

Lead Software Engineer

Peter Travers

Full Stack Engineer

Matt Usifer

Full Stack Engineer

Nate Vecchiarelli

Software Engineer

Eva von Weltin

Data Curator

Joost Wagenaar, Ph.D.

Co-Founder • VP, Scientific Applications

Mike Woods

Full Stack Engineer

Maha Zayed

Front End Engineer

Our board of directors.
Simba Gill, PhD
Simba Gill, PhD

CEO, Evelo Biosciences

Amanda Christini, M.D.

Co-Founder • President

Michael Rabson, PhD, JD
Michael Rabson, PhD, JD

Board Director

Jonathan West
Jonathan West

Board Director

Our scientific advisors.
Brian Litt, M.D.

Blackfynn co-founder and Professor of Neurology and Biomedical Engineering, University of Pennsylvania

Zack Ives, PhD

Blackfynn co-founder and Professor of Computer Science, University of Pennsylvania

Doug Weber, PhD

Lead, Neuromodulation; Professor, Biomedical Engineering, U.Pitt; former DARPA Program Officer for Bioelectronics

Mark Bodmer, PhD

CSO and President of R&D, Evelo; formerly VP, NewMedicines Therapeutics at UCB; SVP, Immunoinflammation at GSK

Andrew Cole, M.D.

Massachusetts General Hospital, Director, MGH Epilepsy Service, Professor of Neurology Harvard Medical School

John Detre, M.D.

Director, Center for Functional Imaging, Professor of Neurology, Professor of Radiology, University of Pennsylvania

Ray Dorsey, M.D.

Professor of Neurology and Director, Center for Health and Technology, University of Rochester

Jacqueline French, M.D.

Professor of Neurology, NYU Comprehensive Epilepsy Center, New York University, Director Epilepsy Study Consortium

Rob Gaunt, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, University of Pittsburgh

Sean Grady, M.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, University of Pennsylvania

Warren Grill, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Duke University

Tim Harris, PhD

Venture Partner SV Life Sciences; Formerly SVP Precision Medicine, Biogen

Karl Kieburtz, M.D., M.P.H.

Parkinson's Progression Markers Initiative; Professor, Department of Neurology, Center for Health and Technology, University of Rochester

Annamaria Vezzani, PhD

Head, Department of Neuroscience and Laboratory of Experimental Neurology, Mario Negri Institute for Pharmacological Research, Milano, Italy

Karen Wilcox, PhD

Professor and Chair, Director: Anticonvulsant Drug Development (ADD) Program, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology, University of Utah

Greg Worrell, M.D., PhD

Chair, Division of Clinical Neurophysiology, Department of Neurology, Mayo Clinic

LinkedIn icon EEG Data icon-balance Analyze Icon Google icon-learning-development GitHub Dribbble blackfynn_logo_mark_RGB_FULL Twitter icon-collaboration icon-wellness Close menu Storage Monogram Menu icon-research Security